Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 19th, 2008

The First Day of My 50th Year

The first day of my 50th year on this earth was spent making a drum.

I didn’t plan it that way, at least not intentionally.  But seemingly Spirit had her hand in the thyming of events.  And it was good.  Many months ago I felt a stirring within to try drumming and this was even before I learned that drumming would be a part of the Spirations program that I have begun.  And then Bette wrote about her drumming experience ~ as I reread her story I was reminded that it was for her 50th birthday. 

The “drum kit” arrived a couple weeks ago and my friend Mimi and I set a date that worked for both of us ~ today.  Earlier this morning I had set the frame on the table in the kitchen, and, if there’s anything to sit in Brita will find it.  So upon my return to the kitchen I found Brita sitting in the frame.  Kodak moment.  Then Kendall appeared next to Brita as if to say, “What about ME?”  Another Kodak moment. 

 

The hide and lacings had been soaking in the washtub.  Mimi arrived with Native American tea and 4 Native American CD’s to choose from.  We enjoyed lunch, started the music, then set about birthing my drum.

We spoke of gifts of and gratitude for the one who gave its life for this drum.  I offered words of thanks and blessing.  And we began: working with our hands and hearts, sharing stories as the drum took shape.  When we weren’t sure what to do, we consulted the guide and spoke a truth that as one begins 50 years of life, rules are followed when they seem appropriate, and from there we decided what to do next.

I tied lots of square knots, and then untied a few, giving thanks for my years as a Girl Scout.  I was grateful for my midwife, who literally and symbolically put her finger on the knot to hold it for me.  At this point Hershey became very interested; perhaps he smelled the rawhide and hoped for a treat.

                                        

When the drum and drum stick were complete to our satisfaction, and we marveled at our work, Mimi had more gifts to share:

~Story: She read the creation story of the Manitous.  Earthy, grounded, feminine.  “And she breathed the breath of life, growth, and abundance into the earth.”  A beautiful story full of affirmation of the feminine.

~Wapum: Something of her own to give to me.  She brought 2 talking sticks and I was to choose one to keep.  The first had a spiral carved handle and laquered bubble-like rattle on the top.  The second was a deer’s jaw attached to a stick with feathers hanging on one side, and a turle painted on the jaw.  They both spoke to me but I chose the first for its spiral handle, and because it doesn’t have feathers for the cats to chase and maul!

And now we wait for the drum to dry and for Spirit to present the next offering and opportunity…

  

Read Full Post »